Cochrane-Fountain City School District Special School Board Meeting April 20, 2020

Board President Karen Knospe called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. in the high school library. Board members present were Larry Cyrus, Karen Knospe, and Areny Bork. Board members virtually present were Bonnie Breza, Lynn Doelle, Rita Greshik, and Kalene Engel. Others present were Michele Butler and Karen Domine. Others virtually present was Tom Hiebert.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Karen Knospe attested to the publication of the meeting.

### **Consideration of Adjustments to the Agenda**

Kalene Engel made a motion to approve the agenda as presented, seconded by Rita Greshik. Motion carried.

## **Oath of Office of New Term Board Members**

Larry Cyrus and Areny Bork took the oath of office as directed by Board President Karen Knospe.

## **Board Organization**

- A. Policy 141 Board Officers-Election of Officers
  - 1. President
  - 2. Vice President
  - 3. Clerk
  - 4. Treasurer

Karen Knospe opened the floor for nominations. Kalene Engel made a motion to nominate all current officers to the same positions. Rita Greshik seconded the nominations. Motion carried. Karen Knospe was named School Board President, Larry Cyrus was named School Board Vice President, Bonnie Breza was named School Board Clerk, and Lynn Doelle was named School Board Treasurer for 2020-2021.

- **B.** Policy 170 Regular and Special Board Meetings Bonnie Breza made a motion to hold regular meetings on the third Wednesday of each month. Seconded by Lynn Doelle, motion carried. It was decided the time of the meetings will be 6:00.
- **C. Policy 142 School District Legal Counsel** Kalene Engel made a motion to continue using Dean Dietrich of Dietrich VanderWaal as legal counsel. Larry Cyrus seconded the motion. Motion carried.

# D. Policy 165.1 School Board Member Conflicts of Interest 1. Completion of Government and Conflict of Interest Forms Conflict of interest forms were distributed to Board members for completion.

## E. Policy 185 Standing Committees of the School Board

Standing committees and members are listed below. Communication-Bonnie Breza, Lynn Doelle, Kalene Engel Curriculum-Larry Cyrus, Bonnie Breza, Areny Bork Finance and Budget-Larry Cyrus, Lynn Doelle, Rita Greshik Human Resources-Karen Knospe, Rita Greshik, Lynn Doelle Policy-Kalene Engel, Areny Bork, Karen Knospe

## F. Policy 186 Ad Hoc Committees Created by the Board

Ad Hoc committees and members are listed below. Administration Negotiations-Kalene Engel, Rita Greshik, Larry Cyrus POC-Larry Cyrus, Karen Knospe Wellness-Areny Bork, Larry Cyrus Credit Review Committee-Larry Cyrus CESA #4 Representative-Larry Cyrus WASB Delegate-not designated at the meeting TIF-Karen Knospe Superintendent Evaluation-Bonnie Breza, Karen Knospe, Lynn Doelle **G.** Board President Appointed Graduation Representatives – With uncertainty regarding the graduation ceremony, no one was appointed at the meeting.

#### **Review Timeline and Items for Future Board Agendas and Meetings:**

A. Wednesday, April 29, 2020	Committee Meetings:	
	Human Resources Committee	4:00 p.m.
	Finance & Budget Committee	5:30 p.m.
B. Wednesday, May 20, 2020	Regular Meeting	6:00 p.m.

**Adjourn:** Kalene Engel made a motion to adjourn at 7:10 p.m., seconded by Bonnie Breza. Motion carried.